Reviews

What My Guests Say

I’m very proud to say that the Guest Book in the gite is full of glowing reviews about the booking process, the gite and the area. Here are the guest comments …

What My Guests Have To Say About Their Stay


Here’s what some of the gite’s guests have said about their stay at Normandy Gite Holidays

What a treat to be the first guests in this lovely, cosy and welcoming gite during this Easter weekend! After long days exploring the rich cultural heritage of Normandy, it has been a delight to return here in the evenings and snuggle with the family in front of the fire. Chris, you’ve been wonderful – thank you for your insider tips and friendly advice! Though it’s a shame this has been a short stay, we’re already looking forward to coming back.

The Dijkstra family. Brussels, Belgium, March 2016

Tres bon et beau séjour! Accompagnement et acceuil agreable et efficace. Gite familiale, moderne et ‘cosy’! La position geographique offre de belles balades ou parcour de course (pour les plus sportifs). De plus, l’acces aux magasins est facile. Merci de tout coeur pour cet acceuil plus que parfait.

Les jeunes! Waterloo, Belgium, May 2016

We have had a truly wonderful stay in the gite. We have spent our days sightseeing and it has been lovely to come back to a place that feels like home! We thoroughly recommend the zoo to any families staying in the future, and the aquarium in Cherbourg is perfect for rainy days. Thank you, Chris, for a wonderful holiday – we can’t wait to return!

Ollie, Katie and Eleanor. Somerset, May 2016

We’ve both agreed that we have never stayed at such a well equipped gite/ cottage. A beautifully tasteful, superior property renovation. Well done, Chris. All the hard work was worth it! All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday made possible by charming, attentive (but respectful) hostess. 

Pete and Carole. Banbury, June 2016

We are in France for the Euro 2016 and have been touring since 11 June. We have had a great time in Normandy, despite bad weather. The gite is wonderful, so well-equipped and so spacious. Thanks, Chris, for the warm welcome.

Sarah, Colin and Bill. Northern Ireland, June 2016

Our stay was great and Chris was a huge help. Seeing Mont Saint Michel is a must as well as all the little villages surrounding the area. Overall it was a great experience and I would definitely recommend the gite to my friends thinking of visiting the area. Great holiday home. 

Dan C and family, July 2016

We have had a wonderful holiday – lovely family time which is very rare now our eldest son has turned 14. The gite has been a perfect base to explore a beautiful area. Chris has been very helpful from the booking stage and throughout our stay.

The Powell family, August 2016

Very well appointed 3 bedroom converted barn. Chris has really thought about what holiday makers need and provided it. High chair, cot, nappy sacks, shade umbrella, etc are all there. We absolutely loved the roller shutters on ally the bedroom windows which completely block out all sunlight!! 

Tom and Nikki, London, Aug 2016

The gite is newly renovated, bright, and spacious, well-fitted out, and comfortable. There is a garden, garden furniture, and plenty of parking space. It is only hour and half from Cherbourg, so an easy run from the ferry port. 

Sandra, September 2016

There is nothing to fault this contemporary finish barn conversion that is light and airy. There is plenty of space for dining and leisure. Of particular note in November was the insulation and heating that kept the place warm throughout the night and day. We have already booked again for 2017.This holiday home in a quiet setting is a gem not to be missed.

Darrell and Heather. Nov/Dec 2016

Superbe séjour, dans une maison très agréable et facile à vivre. Gîte très confortable, aux chambres vastes, pleines de rangements ; lits – et oreillers – formidables (c’est important) ; équipement de cuisine complet et, point crucial, une épicerie de base très utile. Superbe séjour.

Isabelle R-V, Paris, December 2016

We’ve had a fabulous time here in Normandy. There’s been so much to do – beaches with jolly beach huts and sand dunes in addition to the poignancy of visiting the D-Day landing beach at Arromanches. Cathedrals and churches galore. Lovely rural roads, peace and tranquility and the joy of seeing Mont St Michel. The gite was perfect. Thank you, Chris, for your hospitality and tips. 

Mick and Julie, Berkshire, March 2017

Un super séjour, des enfants heureux et des parent comblés. La maison est tres agreable et lumineuse, à proximite du Mont St Michel, de la mer et de charmants petits bourgs. Un endroit parfait pour se reposer tout en se cultivant. Merci à Chris pour son acceuil et sa presence.

La famille Jaeger, Paris, April 2017

La Normandie est chaleureuse – surtout à l’occasion de’ Jazz Sous Les Pommiers’ et la maison de Chris idealement située pour en profiter. La musique et la mer, un bon mariage avec ou sans pommiers. Bravo pour la qualité de l’aménagement de la maison et pour les attentions de l’acceuil. Excellent séjour.

La famille Braud, Paris, May 2017

Chris, you have a lovely place here! Your hard work over the last three years is apparent, great job! We appreciate all the info you’ve gathered and made available. Did you also arrange for the wonderful weather? Thank you!

Sarah and Pierre, Providence, USA, June 2017

Alas, another visit to Maison Ella is over, but we have booked the gite again. Nothing is too much trouble for our host. The venue is clean, tidy and fresh with no wavering of the high standards that are due. Keep up the good work!

Darrell and Heather, Dorset, June 2017

We’ve had a fabulous week in this very well appointed gite. Clean, modern, comfortable with two excellent shower rooms and more than enough crockery and cutlery for 6. Chris has been a joy to deal with, both electronically during booking/payment and in person when we arrived – discreet but attentive. 

Colin, Joan, Fraser and Sudha, Northamptonshire, July 2017

This is our first trip to this part of France and we have really enjoyed it. The gite has worked well for us having everything we need from the internet (for our 17 year old son) through to spacious living accommodation. It has provided us with a great base for us to visit the area. 

Kathryn, Nick and family, Essex, July 2017

We have had a really wonderful stay in this lovely house. Chris has been extremely welcoming and friendly. The house is comfortable, spacious and beautifully designed. It’s been so relaxing here – we’d love to stay a bit longer! 

Mike, Irene, Meg and Summer, London, July 2017

We loved staying at your house. It’s beautiful and we enjoyed Gavray, Granville, Coutances and Mont St Michel. Thank you for your advice to visit it at night. It wasn’t crowded and the island was beautiful at sunset. 

Casper, Lonnete, Elizabeth and Vincent, Netherlands, August 2017

Thanks to Chris for helping us find interesting places to visit including Huisnes-sur-Mer (German memorial/burial site), Mont St Michel but especially the Abbaye de Hambye. What a little gem to visit. There are so many places to go to that we have run out of time. 

Alison, Stew, Joseph and Harry, South Shields, August 2017

What a nice gite is Maison Ella, modern but cosy and very well furnished. A lovely house for a nice holiday! Chris is a friendly hostess with a lot of respect for the privacy of the guests. She had had many nice tips on sights, playgrounds, restaurants and all the crowds in popular places which caused us to have a fairly quiet day at the Mont St Michel. 

Daniel, Nathalie and Ronja, The Netherlands, August 2017

What a wonderful gite you have at ‘Maison Ella’. Well equipped, complete, clean, nice, cosy, comfortable – like home? IThanks for your hospitality, for telling us about the hotspots to see and do and answering all our questions on what to visit when. 

Gideon, Wendy and Huub from The Netherlands, August 2017

It was such a great stay here at the ‘Maison Ella’. It was so great. We had so much fun and also a very comfortable stay. Thanks for being so nice! (Alia)

Such a nice cottage you have. It’s very clean, modern and also cosy. I love this place so much. It’s very well equipped, like the welcome basket which was appreciated and the sports toys which were great to have around. (Sophia)

Sophia and Alia who came with their parents and younger sister from Luxembourg, September 2017

We have had a very nice holiday. Even the weather was much better than expected. The gite is perfect. In everything we see that you want to make your customers happy. You are very thoughtful and we felt very welcome. 

Annemarie and Johan, The Netherlands, September 2017

Five cyclists from North Devon had a great stay here. Many thanks. Everything was perfect. Lovely showers after 70+ miles in the saddle! It’s our 6thTour de Normandy/Brittany and definitely the best place we’ve stayed in!

Jason, Rick, Darrin, Andy and James, October 2017

You have made us feel so welcome. The little touches really were kind – the toys for the girls and the bottle of bubbly on my 30thbirthday! We are looking forward to returning again.

Katie, Ollie, Ellie and Hattie, Somerset, October 2017

We have had a lovely relaxing week here in Normandie! The gite is very comfortable and has been a great base from which to explore the area. Many thanks for the welcome pack, it was much appreciated. 

Julian, Kath, Jack, Lily, Gordon and Elaine, Kent, October 2017

What a wonderful week we have had in Normandy! The house has been so comfortable and warm and has everything that we have needed to feel at home. So much to see and do in this area – we managed Granville, Coutances, Le Mont St Michel, Villedieu and, of course, Gavray. The Chateau at Gratot is truly magical! A wonderful house in a beautiful location with a lovely host! 

Fiona, Kenny, Alexandra, Sussex , October 2017


Overall, this is a great place to spend time or use as a base for exploring. The owner has compiled a great resource pack of places to visit and things to do if you are lost for ideas. The owner has done an amazing job with this place and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

Facebook review from James in the UK, December 2017

What an amazing stay! Thank you so much, Chris, for having thought of everything for the entire bunch! Weather wasn’t on our side but everything else was perfect! Thanks for the Xmas decorations and the welcome basket, they made us feel at home.

Sue, Neil, Candice, Etienne, Madeline and Charlotte from London and Paris, December 2017

Normandie est très belle, ses plages également. Merci à Chris de nous avait permis de venir ici.

Laetitia et les enfants, March 2018

We have really enjoyed our stay in Normandy. Actually, we would have liked to stay longer. Your gite is wonderfully located for travel to many parts of this region. Gavray has the best butcher and was very friendly. Chris, thank you for taking the time to give us directions and to suggest places to visit. 

Alvin and Colleen. New Brunswick, Canada, March 2018

Thank you, Chris, for being a most accommodating host. It is an amazingly well-equipped gite – home from home!!

Keith, Antonia, Oscar and Katie from Bristol area, March/April 2018

We’ve enjoyed or short week here. (Mont-Saint-Michel, Coutances, D-Day beaches, Granville, Hambye abbey.) Normandy is beautiful and when we’re visiting it again we would like to come back to Maison Ella.

Jan, Christel, Sten and Malain, Raalte in the Netherlands, May 2018

We had a wonderful week in your gite! It’s very comfortable and our teenagers were very happy with the good wi-fi. 

Age, Janine, Luc, Casper and Marit. Zwolle, the Netherlands, May 2018

Your gite has been a most comfortable place to stay for our week’s break with our son and his family. We have enjoyed various local eateries, in particular The Auberge de L’abbaye at Hambye run by a young husband and wife team. 

Carol, Philip, Ben, Jo, Alex and Olivia, Devon, UK, June 2018

A huge thank you to Chris for sharing this very comfortable and really well equipped gite. We have had some amazing days out enjoying the local towns and villages with their markets and pretty streets. 

Linda, Neil, Nick, Rachael and Maddie, Cumbria in the UK, June 2018

Many thanks for another lovely stay at Maison Ella (third time we’ve visited) and for looking after us so well. We’ve had a great time exploring and seeing different parts of Normandy yet again – thee’s always something new! The garden is looking lovely and it’s a great space to enjoy after a day out sightseeing and shopping.

Darrell and Heather, Trevor and Trudy from Dorset and West Sussex in the UK, June 2018

Maison Ella is beautiful and a real credit to you and your hard work. You have thought of everything to make our stay wonderful. 

Karl, Vanessa and Amarna from Lincoln, July 2018

We have had a lovely stay at Maison Ella. Thanks a lot for the tips you gave us. There is really a lot to see in Normandy. 

Margaret, Roland, Thomas and Simon, Apeldoorn in the Netherlands, July 2018

Thank you for creating a welcoming home that we had the pleasure of staying in. Of the many restaurants we went to, Restaurant de Delice in Gavray is our favourite. We particularly enjoyed our days out at Mont St Michel and zoo de Champrepus. Thanks you for being a wonderful host.

Kate, Carly, Alan and Lorna, July 2018

Many thanks for a great stay in this fabulous gite, Chris!

Zoe, Len, Oliver and Lily, Yorkshire, August 2018

The accommodation is well equipped with not only everything needed for a self-catering holiday but an abundance of information about interest places to visit.

Dave, Marie, Andrew and Grace, August 2018

We’ve had a fabulous fortnight in France. Thanks to Chris for such a warm welcome, a beautiful gite and so much great information not to mention the lovely tasty welcome hamper.

Rod, Sally and Thomas from Yorkshire, August 2018

We have made several trip through Normandy: Coutances, Granville, Gavray market, the D-Day beaches and Le Mont. All in a small reach of the gite.

Jeroen, Tabassan, Raafi and Hannah from Hoofddorp in the Netherlands, August 2018

We have had a lovely holiday at Maison Ella – the best gite that we have stayed in. Thank you for the generous welcome pack – much appreciated.

Chris, Janice and Jo from Dorset and Cardiff in the UK, September 2018

This is our third stay at Chris’ beautiful gite – testament to how much we love it here!

Katie, Ollie, Ellie and Hattie, Somerset, September 2018

We’ve had a wonderful holiday in Chris’ gite with our two year old. Our first family holiday abroad and our last before we become a family of four in December!

Sam, Henry and Rafferty from London, September 2018

Lots to do – need to return to visit more places. Gite lovely and comfortable and quiet and relaxing.

Pauline, Keith, Janice and David from Hertfordshire, October 2018

Magnifique séjour dans ce gite agréable et une grande tranquilité (très bien situé à proximité des commerces et proche de la mer).

Famille Lemaitre, October 2018

Absolutely loved it! The cosy gite was perfect to come back to after long days of sightseeing.

The Gibson family, UK, November 2018

We toured the area and spent our evenings cooking amazing meals, drinking local wines and sampling many local cheeses.

Katie, Rob, Sid and Andrea, Colorado in the USA, November 2018

We were impressed with the gite and the owner. We were met with a hamper and Christmas decorations which Chris had provided.

The Doherty family, December 2018

Merci pour ce gîte tres agréable, bien amenagé, sobre et genereux à la fois.

La Famille Betton, France, January 2019

Many thanks for a lovely stay in your gite. We had the most wonderful, active, impressive holiday. The gite is very welcoming, everything is very complete. The boys enjoyed their kingsize beds!

Family Heijink, The Netherlands, February 2019

What a lovely gite you have! Modern, cosy, clean, spacious and so well equipped! We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to come back here in the near future.

Jurgen, Alja, Debbie, Belgium, April 2019

We loved our visit in sunny Normandy. We and the kids enjoyed our stay in your beautiful and complete holiday gite. With all the information you’ve given us we’ve made the most of our visit in this beautiful region.

Werner, Christel, Lucas and Thibo, Belgium, April 2019

Thank you for the lovely stay in your gite! We’ve enjoyed the beautiful surroundings but also the other must-see places in Normandy. Your information was very helpful and kind.

Ulbe and Dorien, The Netherlands, May 2019

Can’t recommend your gite highly enough! It is absolutely lovely and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Rachel, Alex, Trish, Evie, Isabel. UK, May 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your lovely gite which was so well equipped with everything that we needed. Your welcome pack was superb. Have stayed in several gites previously and yours was the best.

Karen. East Sussex, UK, June 2019

We have a lovely time in the gite. Everything you could possibly need. Home from home.

Brian and Diane, Sussesx UK, June 2019

We had a fab time in your lovely gite. Everything was there that we needed and it is so light and airy.

Elayne and Chris, Eastbourne, UK, June 2019

Lots to see and do and the D-Day celebrations were a highlight. You have been a fantastic host providing everything for a memorable holiday.

Linda, Keith, Jean and Brian. UK, June 2019

You gave us a very warm welcome in Maison Ella. We have enjoyed our stay here very much. The cottage is very welcoming and so modern and well equipped. We had a wonderful week here and created a lot of new memories.

Peter and Hanneke. The Netherlands, June 2019

Our second visit to Maison Ella – it’s just lovely. From the warm welcome from Chris, her fantastic welcome basket and the comfort of this beautiful gite. There is everything and more that you could need. Chris, you have thought of everything and provided such a clean and comfortable place to base ourselves in Normandy.

Linda and Neil. Cumbria, UK, June 2019

We had a lovely stay in the gite! So clean, well equipped and a good location. We loved it!

Roel, Sabrina, Lenthe and Emmie. Netherlands, July 2019

The gite is very well equipped and one of the best we’ve ever stayed at. Chris has been very friendly and helpful and is very knowledgeable of the area and places to visit. During our week we have visited Pirou castle, Chateau Gratot, Ambye Abbey, Lucerne Abbey and Balleroy castle. All in all an excellent holiday accompanied by amazing weather!

The Chambers Family. UK, July 2019

We had a great holiday in Normandy! Seen and done a lot. We enjoyed the well equipped house.

Family Keupink. Netherlands, July 2019

Lovely holiday here. The gite is a real home from home – comfy, light and fresh on hot days. A lovely conversion. We recommend Mont-Saint-Michel – very busy but so picturesque. Lots to see and do here.

The Hamilton Family. UK, July/August 2019

We had a wonderful stay in your lovely gite, well-equipped, clean and comfortable with a warm welcome basket. The boulangerie in Hambye is very good and we had a great evening in the restaurant Le Jules Gommes in Regneville-sur-Mer.

Albert, Susan, Feline and Sabyn. The Netherlands, August 2019

We really enjoyed exploring the area, lots to do with teenagers. Zoo de Champrepus, Bayeux Adventure Park, Granville, Velorail at Conde-sur-Vire, crazy golf at Torigni-sur-Vire and the beach at St Martin de Brehal.

The Fenton Family. Sussex, UK, August 2019

Our second visit here this year and very enjoyable. We visited lots of interesting places as well as our favourite restaurants – Hotel La Gare at Percy and Restaurant Delice at Gavray.

Brian and Diane. Sussex, August 2019

We have had a wonderful stay in Normandy and your lovely gite. We never before stayed in a gite so well equipped. You do a great job! Thank you for the information you gave beforehand and during our stay.

Frans and Els. The Netherlands, September 2019

Merci beaucoup pour votre hospitalité. On a passé un temps agréable ici en Normandie dans votre belle maison.

Freddy and family. Belgium, September 2019

The gite is located centrally for great day trips. We ventured to Granville, Juno Beach, St Malo, Mont-Saint-Michel and various coastal towns. Thank you for your excellent communication and instructions – they helped make our trip seamless.

Roberta and Tim. Canada, September 2019